This interactive map shows where you can travel this summer, and where you can’t

Keeping track of which countries have open borders right now, who they’re allowing to visit, and under which circumstances is no easy feat. With national policies changing by the day, it’s almost impossible to know where and when we’re allowed to travel. To make the process of planning a trip at this very unusual time, the International Air Transport Association (IATA) is attempting to make it easier on prospective travelers.

Photo: IATA

The IATA created an interactive map of the world, which allows you to click on any country and see its current tourism policy. The map is updated in real time in accordance with the rapidly evolving international response to the COVID-19 pandemic. IATA partnered with airlines and government agencies worldwide to create the map.

Clicking on a country will reveal any border restrictions and to whom they apply. Clicking on the United States, for example, opens a window that shows that non-US nationals or residents who have traveled to Austria, Belgium, Brazil, People’s Republic of China, Czechia, Denmark, and 25 more nations in the past 14 days are not allowed to enter the US. The pop-up window also details a list of exemptions and quarantine measures. Clicking on the UK reveals that passengers are subject to self-isolation for 14 days and must complete a “Passenger Public Health Locator Form” before departure and present it at customs.

If you’re considering traveling abroad in the next few months, check this map regularly for updates.

Source link